top of page

MY FAVOURITE BOOKS PART 1.

Updated: May 24, 2020

Okay, so I know that is kinda turning to a book blog but it's probably the subject that I'm best at writing about so this is a list of why some of these books are my favourite books. Hopefully, if you're not a big reader, or even if you are, you take something away from this and read these books! (They aren't in order of my favourites, just the order I think of them). Where I can, I've taken the summaries directly from the author's website. Another note, I will not be giving them ratings out of 5 or anything because I'd rate them all at 5 for different reasons.


1. HISTORY IS ALL YOU LEFT ME - ADAM SILVERA


Summary: When Griffin's first love and ex-boyfriend, Theo, dies in a drowning accident, his universe implodes. Even though Theo had moved to California for college and started seeing Jackson, Griffin never doubted Theo would come back to him when the time was right. But now, the future he's been imagining for himself has gone far off course. To make things worse, the only person who truly understands his heartache is Jackson. But no matter how much they open up to each other, Griffin's downward spiral continues. He's losing himself in his obsessive compulsions and destructive choices, and the secrets he's been keeping are tearing him apart. If Griffin is ever to rebuild his future, he must first confront his history, every last heartbreaking piece in the puzzle of his life.


My review: Oh my god. This book made me ball my eyes out. The story went into a different direction than I thought it was going to (I'm not going to spoil, don't worry). I absolutely adore Adam Silvera's writing so I think this story was absolutely perfect for his style. I don't recommend if you're not into sadder things but it is beautiful. The book's sensitivity towards the themes of grief and death are something that should be admired because Adam Silvera doesn't just brush over everything, he lets the characters grieve which just makes it even more real and relatable. There's just something about the book that still resonates with me today. I remember when I read the book, just crying my eyes out and wanting to hug Griffin, the protagonist, as silly as that seems. As well as successfully dealing with the themes of death and grief, Silvera also incorporates OCD and it definitely looks like he did his research. There is continuity of compulsions and even the way that other characters may not have a complete understanding of the importance of these compulsions and rituals to Griffin. The chapters swap between 'history' and 'today', showing the story of Theo and Griffin, before snapping away from memories to the harsh realities of grief and loss. The book has a romance in it, clear from the summary, as Theo and Griffin used to date. It shows the awkwardness of first love but also making it realistic, without the whole cliche aspect of it. Throughout the course of the book, Griffin learns to realise that Theo had flaws too and that maybe letting go is an option that he needs to consider to progress in life. How that ends up? You need to take a read for yourself.



2. THEY BOTH DIE AT THE END - ADAM SILVERA


Summary: On September 5, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to give them some bad news: They’re going to die today. Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they’re both looking to make a new friend on their End Day. The good news: There’s an app for that. It’s called the Last Friend, and through it, Rufus and Mateo are about to meet up for one last great adventure—to live a lifetime in a single day.


Review: Okay, so the title is a bit of a spoiler but it doesn't take the path that you think. If you haven't gathered already, I absolutely adore Adam Silvera's writing. This book also made me cry my eyes out. The bond between Rufus and Mateo, although developed in a day, does not appear rushed. The bond between them is so genuine and raw that you're sucked in from the very beginning. The ending was not what I expected, which only made it more heartbreaking. There is a clear contrast between the two contrast, which just showed how beautifully different they are. The book covers the idea of death being inevitable and it makes it feel more real because it's not romanticised. There is no 'oh it's so beautiful, they're an angel now' it's more like 'there is nothing you can do to stop this'. It makes not only the characters but you realise that you never know what day is your last so it's important to just live your life and spend time with the people you love. If you want a good book that pulls you in and makes you cry then this is definitely for you.



3. CARRY ON - RAINBOW ROWELL


Summary: Simon Snow is the worst Chosen One who’s ever been chosen. That’s what his roommate, Baz, says. And Baz might be evil and a vampire and a complete git, but he’s probably right. Half the time, Simon can’t even make his wand work, and the other half, he sets something on fire. His mentor’s avoiding him, his girlfriend broke up with him, and there’s a magic-eating monster running around wearing Simon’s face. Baz would be having a field day with all this, if he were here—it’s their last year at the Watford School of Magicks, and Simon’s infuriating nemesis didn’t even bother to show up.


Review: This book is based off a fanfiction created in one of Rainbow Rowell's other books called Fangirl (which is also super good!). Usually, I don't read books about magic and wizards and stuff but this one definitely hit the nail on the head for me. It's quirky and funny so it was an easy read. The characters have a complexity to them, which just pulls you in even more because you want to find out their secrets and what is really going on. There is a huge twist at the end that I just wasn't expecting and it gave me a mix of emotions. It's a pretty big book so depending on how fast you read, it could take a while to get through. I think it took me a week? and I'm a pretty fast reader. Simon is definitely a character that is intriguing to say the least because we know so little about him. There is actually a sequel coming out soon called Wayward Son (Get it? If you put the two books together it makes Carry On My Wayward Son, like the song by Kansas. If you like the TV show Supernatural then you'll definitely get it). I'm so excited for the sequel, something I'm going to binge read when I get the chance. I definitely recommend a read out of this one but I think reading Fangirl first might give you an insight into the inspiration for this book. A book that is fanfiction of a fictional series inside of a book, crazy right?


4. THE SONG OF ACHILLES - MADELINE MILLER


Summary: Greece in the age of Heroes. Patroclus, an awkward young prince, has been exiled to the kingdom of Phthia. Here he is nobody, just another unwanted boy living in the shadow of King Peleus and his golden son, Achilles. Achilles, “best of all the Greeks,” is everything Patroclus is not—strong, beautiful, the child of a goddess—and by all rights their paths should never cross. Yet one day, Achilles takes the shamed prince under his wing and soon their tentative connection gives way to a steadfast friendship. As they grow into young men skilled in the arts of war and medicine, their bond blossoms into something far deeper—despite the displeasure of Achilles’ mother Thetis, a cruel sea goddess with a hatred of mortals.

Fate is never far from the heels of Achilles. When word comes that Helen of Sparta has been kidnapped, the men of Greece are called upon to lay siege to Troy in her name. Seduced by the promise of a glorious destiny, Achilles joins their cause. Torn between love and fear for his friend, Patroclus follows Achilles into war, little knowing that the years that follow will test everything they have learned, everything they hold dear. And that, before he is ready, he will be forced to surrender his friend to the hands of Fate.


Review: As a fan of Greek mythology, this book was incredible. It took me a while to get into at first but I think that's because I didn't understand the language because it was a couple of years ago. It's not really complicated but some of the word order is a little bit different so that took some getting used to. Once I had adjusted, I completely fell in love. Achilles and Patroclus create such an amazing and interesting dynamic that you're rooting for them all the way through the book. Like pretty much all of the books on the list, I cried. If you enjoy Greek mythology then I suggest you read this book, or if you want to get into mythology, this adds more romance to the myth, rather than just retelling it. The writing is so beautiful in this book so it's hard to not love. I think this is a book that I plan to reread at some point and fall in love and get my heart broken all over again, now that I have a better knowledge. I think I might read the Iliad first by Homer so I know more about how the Ancient Greeks saw this myth and then look at the modern take on it to experience it from all angles.



5. SIMON VS THE HOMO SAPIENS AGENDA - BECKY ALBERTALLI


Summary: Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.


Review: I read this book before Love, Simon came out (in case you didn't know, Love, Simon was based off of this book), and I binge read the whole thing. It's such an easy read and is pretty up-lifting. I think I cried reading this? I don't particularly remember, but it wouldn't be uncharacteristic of me. When I found out who Blue was, I actually squealed with excitement because I both expected it and didn't. The book overall is just really sweet and it deals with LGBTQ+ issues respectfully, as well as the naivety that would come from a teenager in that situation. Becky Albertalli has actually written a book with Adam Silvera, which made me so excited and I can't wait to read it. Simon Vs. The Homo sapiens Agenda is beautiful and shows the importance of acceptance and how everyone is the same and can find love. I must admit, I will not spoil who, there is a character that is very well written and their actions make me so angry and dislike them. I know I glared at the pages as I desperately just wanted to see them get slapped.



I think I'll leave it at five books for now because I don't want people to get bored but this definitely will become a series, probably with the different genres of books because all of the books in here come under the YA (Young Adult) category and all feature LGBTQ+ protagonists, which is pretty profound. I hope you read some of these books. Comment down some of your favourite books and I'll add them to my list to read, or make on another post reviewing ones that I have read.


See ya,

Chloe xx

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

WOULD THE ODYSSEY MAKE A GOOD MOVIE?!

Okay, so this is an essay I had to write for school and I found it really interesting and so I thought I'd share my thoughts here. This is the whole essay and my teacher gave me full marks (25/25). If

BOOKS VS MOVIES: MY OPINON

Okay, so here we go! If you know me then you will know that I am an avid book reader and will argue you with you any day about why I think books are better, however, I want to go into this in more det

bottom of page